Week 4: A post of treasure hunt proportions.

Posted on August 17, 2010

0


When doing the readings this week for my Writing and Editing for Digital Media unit, I stumbled across a website known as Copyblogger. Unbeknownst to me, this website actually offers a regular cornucopia of information on the best way to intitlise and have a successful blog. Even though its tagline may read “Want more traffic, links, subscribers, and a profit-generating website? Copyblogger gives you the solutions you need to succeed”, the information appears even useful for a humble class-assignment/part-time blogger as myself. Within the website there are hundreds of articles on how to write an entertaining blog and avoid the mistakes that loose you hits to your blog. This was obviously news to me as I have often thought throughout my short bloglife, if you build it, they will come.

So, even though for most of the bloggers in who read this will potentially only be my Digital Media peers, these articles still go out to you my home-blog-readers. Some of my favourite (and most the popular articles) include;

Five Grammatical errors that make you look dumb, an article to focuses on the MOST COMMON and most MOST FRUSTRATING errors we all make, and I bet after adding this article I am bound to make the same errors in this post. It also emphasises the importance of how you can be taken as a joke if you cannot grasp simple grammar rules. In the end, no matter what a charming person you may be and what wonderful things you may have to blog about, for a reader, there is nothing outside the text.

7 Deadly Sins of Blogging, this is a good article not only because it points out what readers really have no interest to hear whilst being an entertaining article it thankfully steers clear from breaking any of its own rules. I wish I could say the same for myself but I think I do occasionally push these boundaries of Sloth and Impatience. It is important especially to remember that no one wants to be that blogger who you could liken to the Aunty you have who Christmas talks to you for five hours about her cats hairball development (or likewise boorish materials). Entertainment is key.

Ernest Hemingway’s Top 5 tips for Writing Well, because rightly as this article questions; “Who better?”. Again, engaging, useful and most importantly for me, short enough that my scanning technique actually allowed me time to finish the article as well as giving me some useful points to run away with. This allowed me to consider the idea that for a long time now I have tried simply to write the best I can. Sometimes I have good luck and write better than I can.

One other article I found, that I did not want to mention too early for reason that will become apparent, is a blog by Johnny B Truant. It was in fact a hyperlink from one of the readings of his name that led me to this website. His article confidently titled The Insider Guide to Creating An Audience of Raving Fans talks about a phenomenon close to my heart (in TV shows, movies, video games and even in blogs) known as ‘easter eggs‘. Most of you are probably aware this is a message or joke hidden in an aspect of your media that keeps your readership coming back. In the end even if in your blog, paraphrasing Johnny Truant here, only 1 out of 100 get your inside joke, you have made a reader for life. A personal connection between you and that person. As a result, I have placed within the above article five easter eggs, things I find amusing or loose references to pop culture. Curious to see which ones to you pick. Do not worry yourself if you cannot find any as the key to a good easter egg placement is the article works with or without the reader realising the reference.

Have a swell afternoon, and happy searching….

Posted in: Website critique